Atreyu to release Congregation of the Damned

, Editor on October 14, 2009 | genre: rock

California's outfit Atreyu will take to the road this fall alongside Hollywood Undead in support of its impending new album, "Congregation of the Damned." Atreyu will start the co-headlining trek October 16th in Lubbock, TX. The 27-date run, which hits clubs throughout the US and parts of Canada, will finish along the West Coast.

Artist: Atreyu
Title: Congregation of the Damned
Release date: 10/27/09
Label: Hollywood Records
Buy at: Amazon

"Congregation of the Damned," Atreyu's fifth studio effort and second with Hollywood Records, is due in stores October 27th. The band recorded the new album at Los Angeles' Henson Studios with the help of producer Bob Marlette (Ozzy Osbourne, Airborne).

"I was anxious to work with these guys," says Marlette. "They're a great slamming live band with amazing power and a great signature sound. This is going to be a helluva record."

"I think this is the longest our band has ever had laser-like focus on an album," frontman Alex Varkatzas said in a press release. "We were all working together really well and we had a great time in the studio with Bob. He's this jovial, cigar-smoking, goatee-sporting dude from Nebraska, and he really helped us finetune the material and nail our best performances."

The forthcoming release follows 2007's "Lead Sails Paper Anchor," which debuted at No. 8 on The Billboard 200 and produced three Top 20 singles"Becoming the Bull," "Falling Down" and "Slow Burn."

Los Angeles-based raprock outfit Hollywood Undead is supporting its debut album,"Swan Songs," which surfaced last fall.

"We started as a heavy hardcore band," says Varkatzas, "and I think we've gotten away from that in recent years. The last record, for example, showcased us as a rock band with heavy parts. With this record, we want to return to our roots while also continuing to move forward. It's about finding the right balance between the two."

"This album will scream as a statement of where we've been, what we've become and where we will go," adds drummer/vocalist Brandon Saller. "We think this record will be a huge marker in the life of Atreyu and we can't wait to unveil it."

According to Varkatzas, the band has demo'd 30 songs and plan to narrow it down to 16. "The songs definitely have a dark, heavier feel and I think the current climate has a lot to do with that," says the vocalist. "Personally, I just feel...angry and it's coming out in the music. Failed bailouts, unemployment on the rise, troops still in Iraq-I watch all this stuff on the news and it carries over to the sessions. It gets me fired up."

The single, "Storm To Pass" is now impacting Rock.

Atreyu tour dates
October 2009

16 - Lubbock, TX - The Pavilion at Lone Star Event Center
17 - San Antonio, TX - Sunset Station Lonestar Pavilion
18 - Dallas, TX - House of Blues
20 - Mission, TX - Las Palmas Race Park
21 - Houston, TX - Verizon Wireless Theater
23 - Orlando, FL - Hard Rock Cafe
24 - Atlanta, GA - The Tabernacle
25 - Myrtle Beach, SC - House of Blues
26 - Charlotte, NC - Fillmore Charlotte
27 - Richmond, VA - The National
29 - New York, NY - Roseland Ballroom
30 - Baltimore, MD - Sonar
31 - Philadelphia, PA - Electric Factory

November 2009

2 - Montreal, Quebec - Metropolis
3 - Toronto, Ontario - Sound Academy
4 - Pittsburgh, PA - Ches-A-Rena
6 - Chicago, IL - Aragon Ballroom
7 - Saint Paul, MN - Myth
8 - Omaha, NE - Sokol Auditorium
10 - Denver, CO - Fillmore Auditorium
11 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Great Saltair
13 - Boise, ID - Knitting Factory Concert House
14 - Seattle, WA - Showbox SoDo
15 - Portland, OR - Roseland Theater
17 - Sacramento, CA - Memorial Auditorium
18 - San Jose, CA - Events Center at San Jose State University
20 - Las Vegas, NV - House of Blues

"Congregation of the Damned" by Atreyu - release date: 10/27/09..

Share this:
Your name: