Death Cab for Cutie to release Narrow Stairs

, Editor on January 27, 2009 | genre: rock

Atlantic recording group Death Cab for Cutie has unveiled plans for a major U.S. tour. The Seattle-based band -- whose RIAA gold certified "NARROW STAIRS" is among 2008's most acclaimed albums -- will kick off their spring schedule on April 7th at the Tower Theatre in Upper Darby, Pennsylvania (see below itinerary). The dates then continue through a May 6th show at Atlanta's Fox Theatre. Cold War Kids will be direct support in April, with Matt Costa taking over direct support for dates in May. Ra Ra Riot will be opening all shows on the tour. Exclusive fan club pre-sale begins January 28th and all other shows go on sale beginning the weekend of January 30th. Check local venues for more information.

In February, Death Cab will warm up for their coast-to-coast itinerary with a headline tour of Australia and Japan. They will then return to the U.S. in time for an eagerly anticipated performance at Miami's annual Langerado Music Festival, slated for Saturday, March 7th.

Artist: Death Cab for Cutie
Title: Narrow Stairs
Release date: 04/29/08
Label: Atlantic Records
Single: Cath
Death Cab for Cutie
Buy at: Amazon

Death Cab for Cutie
Released in May 2008, "NARROW STAIRS" made a stunning debut atop the Billboard 200, marking Death Cab's first-ever #1 record. The album went on to receive gold certification from the RIAA, marking sales exceeding 500,000. What's more, DCFC and "NARROW STAIRS" recently earned a pair of nominations for the upcoming 51st Annual Grammy Awards, for "Best Alternative Music Album" and "Best Rock Song," honoring the album's first single, "I Will Possess Your Heart."

"NARROW STAIRS" -- which follows 2005's Grammy-nominated, RIAA platinum-certified "PLANS" -- was ranked among the most-praised albums of 2008, placing high on a wide range of year-end polls. "A perfectly imperfect album," noted in its "The Best Albums of 2008," "which is to say that it sounds very much like a band, setting up in a room and just letting it rip, and that makes it perhaps more compelling than 90 percent of the rock albums released this year."

"Dependability can be rock's worst enemy," observed Spin in its "40 Best Albums of 2008" ranking, "but Death Cab have made it an asset by adding savvy embellishments to their solid foundation of polished indie chime and downcast, evocative lyricism. Every album gets slightly more refined, with Ben Gibbard and Co. stretching their sound while still knowing when the gorgeous melancholy can speak for itself."

"NARROW STAIRS" was among Rolling Stone's "Readers' Top 30 Albums of 2008," while in its "33 Best Albums of 2008" tally, Blender hailed "NARROW STAIRS" for possessing "the most propulsive riffs of (Death Cab's) career." "A sonic feast," wrote Paste in its "Best of 2008," "The drama-building atmospherics... display a Radiohead-like shrewdness -- an appreciation for the perfect mix of instrumental textures, anchored by metronomic drumming."

The album came in at #5 on NPR's annual All Songs Considered poll, which suggested that though "'NARROW STAIRS' isn't Death Cab for Cutie's easiest album to get to know... it requires and rewards a bit more dissection."

tour dates
4/7-29 w/Cold War Kids and Ra Ra Riot
5/1-6 w/ Matt Costa and Ra Ra Riot


7 Miami, FL Langerado Festival


7 Upper Darby, PA Tower Theatre
8 Washington, DC DAR Constitution Hall
9 Davidson, NC John Belk Arena/Davidson College
10 Louisville, KY Louisville Palace
11 Memphis, TN Orpheum Theatre
12 Tulsa, OK The Brady Theater
13 Omaha, NE Holland Theatre
15 St. Paul, MN Roy Wilkings Auditorium
17 Chicago, IL Aragon Ballroom
18 East Lansing, MI Breslin Events Center/
Michigan State University
19 Waukesha, WI Van Male Fieldhouse/Carroll College
24 Spokane, WA McCarthey Athletic Center/
Gonzaga University
25 Boise, ID The Morrison Center
27 Sacramento, CA Memorial Auditorium
29 San Diego, CA RIMAC Arena/UC San Diego


1 Austin, TX Austin Music Hall
2 New Orleans, LA Contemporary Arts Center
4 Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium
5 Birmingham, AL BJCC Concert Hall
6 Atlanta, GA Fox Theatre

press quotes
'Death Cab announce themselves as genuine rock stars' **** - Observer Music Monthly

'Spacious, ambitious and bolder than ever, Death Cab for Cutie have struck gold once more. Magic' **** - Kerrang!

'One of the best bands in the world, at the peak of their game' 9/10 - Rock Sound

'A superb album' **** - The Sunday Times

who is who
Ben Gibbard - vocals, guitar, keyboards
Chris Walla - guitar, keyboards
Nick Harmer - bass
Jason McGerr - drums

more information
Atlantic recording group Death Cab for Cutie has unveiled initial details of their hugely anticipated new album. "Narrow Stairs" which follows 2005's Grammy Award-nominated label debut, Plans will be released on May 13th. Produced by the band's own Chris Walla, "Narrow Stairs" will be preceded by the single, "I Will Possess Your Heart" which has already moved into the top 20 on the Alternative chart.

"I hope this album is a bit of a surprise for those out there that think they have us all figured out. We can't wait to share these songs with the world," states Death Cab bassist Nick Harmer.

Death Cab will herald the album's release with their first live shows in more than eighteen months. They'll kick things off April 18th in their home state of Washington at the Admiral theater in Bremerton, followed by a series of festival appearances, including Coachella 2008 in Indio, California, on Saturday, April 26th, and the Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival on June 15th in Manchester, Tennessee.

Narrow Stairs Tracklisting

1. Bixby Canyon Bridge
2. I Will Possess Your Heart
3. No Sunlight
4. Cath…
5. Talking Bird
6. You Can Do Better Than Me
7. Grapevine Fires
8. Your New Twin Sized Bed
9. Long Division
10. Pity and Fear
11. The Ice Is Getting Thinner

"Narrow Stairs" by Death Cab for Cutie - release date: 04/29/08..

Share this:
Your name: