fun Announce Some Nights and Tour Dates

by , Editor on December 7, 2011 | genre: rock

fun. has a couple of exciting announcements to make. First up is their North American tour which starts on February 29th at South Burlington, Vermont's Higher Ground ending in May. Secondly their second album 'Some Nights' will be unveiled before the tour on February 21st. Last but not least is the album's tracklisting consisting out of eleven tracks including the hit-single 'We Are Young' with Janelle Monae.

It is the band's first release on their new label Fueled by Ramen. Back in 2009 they debuted with 'Aim and Ignite' on Nettwerk Records. On this new album they have been working with top-notch producer Jeff Bhasker who worked with Kanye West, Alicia Keys, Drake, and others. So yes, this album will have elements of hip-hop in it.

At the moment you can buy an exclusive limited 7' edition of their first single. This edition includes the new track 'One Foot' which will be on the new album as well.

Artist: fun
Title: Some Nights
Release date: 02/21/12
Label: Fueled By Ramen
Single: We Are Young
Buy at: Amazon

The band will perform “We Are Young” on the December 8th installment of NBC’s Last Call with Carson Daly (check local listings). What’s more, the song was performed on last night’s episode of Fox’s smash series, Glee. The performance can be viewed now:

Following the episode, the Glee Cast Version of “We Are Young” topped the iTunes Overall Singles chart, and fun.’s original version of the song topped the iTunes Alternative Singles chart. “We Are Young” was also a top 10 worldwide trending topic on Twitter following the episode.

fun. recently heralded the imminent arrival of “SOME NIGHTS” with a pair of sold-out hometown headline shows in New York and Los Angeles. The bi-coastal dates followed the band’s 15-city trek supporting their “We Are Young” collaborator, Janelle Monáe, who has nothing but the highest praise for her tourmates, hailing the band as "incredible musicians.”

“Nate Ruess’ voice is legendary,” Monáe added. “Their music is special. To watch fun. is to perhaps watch the renaissance of Queen mixed with their own fresh approach to music.”

The band followed the album’s release with a series of well-received live appearances, including numerous headline dates and show-stopping performances at such gatherings as 2011’s Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival.

North American Tour 2012

29 South Burlington, VT Higher Ground

1 Pawtucket, RI The Met Café
2 Towson, MD The Recher Theatre
3 Carrboro, NC Cat’s Cradle
7 St. Petersburg, FL State Theatre
8 Orlando, FL Beacham Theatre
9 Atlanta, GA Center Stage
10 Birmingham, AL WorkPlay Theatre
20 Houston, TX Warehouse Live Studio
21 Dallas, TX House of Blues
23 Tucson, AZ Rialto Theatre
24 Pomona, CA The Glass House
28 San Francisco, CA The Independent
29 San Francisco, CA Bottom of the Hill
31 Salt Lake City, UT In The Venue

3 Fort Collins, CO Aggie Theatre
5 Denver, CO Bluebird Theater
6 Boulder, CO Fox Theatre & Café
10 Omaha, NE The Slowdown
11 Madison, WI The Majestic Theatre
13 Minneapolis, MN The Varsity Theater
14 Chicago. IL Vic Theatre
15 Detroit, MI St. Andrews Hall
18 Grand Rapids, MI The Intersection
19 Columbus, OH Newport Music Hall
20 Rochester, NY Water Street Music Hall
21 Boston, MA House of Blues
25 Toronto, ON The Mod Club Theatre
26 Montreal, QC Cabaret du Mile End
27 Clifton Park, NY Northern Lights
28 Philadelphia, PA Theatre of Living Arts

4 Washington, DC 9:30 Club
5 Charlottesville, VA Jefferson Theatre

Some Nights Tracklisting
1. Some Nights Intro
2. Some Nights
3. We Are Young (feat. Janelle Monáe)
4. Carry On
5. It Gets Better
6. Why Am I the One
7. All Alone
8. All Alright
9. One Foot
10. Stars
11. Out On The Town (Bonus Track)

"Some Nights" by fun - release date: 02/21/12..

Share this:
Your name: